Ayhan Kaya

+90 212 311 5306

Santralistanbul / E5 307


  • BA in International Relations, Marmara University, 1991
  • MA in International Relations, Marmara University (1993) / MA in Ethnic Relations, University of Warwick, UK, 1994
  • PhD in Ethnic Relations, University of Warwick, UK, 1999


  • Europe and Migration
  • Islam and the West: Bridging the Gap
  • Cultural Diversity in Europe
  • Politics  (PhD)
  • Introduction to Politics

Areas of Interest

  • Political Theory
  • Ethnicity and the Global Order
  • Contemporary Political Ideologies
  • Politics of Cultural Diversity
  • International Migration
  • Politics of Transnationalism

Rewards and Achievements

  • Jean Monnet Fellowship, Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, European University Institute, Florence (2016-2017)
  • Sabbatical 2016-2017 to be spent in the EUI, Florence
  • Success Story Prize for Jean Monnet Chair of European Politics of Interculturalism by the European Commission (2016)
  • Best Teaching Award, 2013, Istanbul Bilgi University, 9 January 2014.
  • Aziz Nesin Chair, European University Viadrina, European Studies, Frankfurt-Oder, Germany (2013)
  • Turkish Academy of Sciences “Best Textbook Prize 2013” for Introduction to European Union (Avrupa Birliğine Giriş) co-edited with S. Aydın, Ö. Onursal and Yaprak Gürsoy.
  • Jean Monnet Chair, European Commission (2011-2014) 
  • Willy Brandt Professorship, MIM, Malmö Institute for Studies of Migration, Diversity and Welfare, Malmö University, Sweden
  • Euroactiv News Portal European Award for Turkey (2009)
  • Jean Monnet Module, Europe and Migration, European Commission (2008-2013)
  • Research Award of Turkish Scientific and Technological Research Council on Internally Displaced People in Turkey (2007)
  • Winner of Turkish Academy of Sciences Prize in Social Sciences (TÜBA-GEBİP 2005)
  •  Winner of Sedat Simavi Prize in Social Sciences (with Ferhat Kentel on “Euro-Turks” Book, 2005)
  • International Visitors Programme Participant on “Multiculturalism in a Democratic Society” organized by USA Department of State and Phleps Stokes Foundation, Washington DC (21 April 15 May 2003)
  • Turkish Association of Social Sciences Award, 2003: Best Book, Sicher in Kreuzberg: Berlin’deki Küçük İstanbul, Diyasporada kimliğin oluşumu  (İstanbul: Büke Yayınları, 2000)
  • Meawards, Population Council, Cairo (2001-2003)
  • Istanbul British Council Research Grant (1997 Summer);
  • German Academic Exchange Grant, DAAD (1996)
  • University of Warwick Home Students Only Fee (1996-1997)
  • British Government Overseas Research Student Fellowship (1995-1997)
  • European Union Jean Monnet Fellowship (1994-1995)
  • Honoured Student of the Institute of Social Sciences, Marmara University (1991)

Other Information

“Jean Monnet Chair”             

“Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence”  

For Publications, see: